1st Birthday Chalkboard

I have to admit, I was super intimidated to try one of these for my son’s first birthday. I LOVED the idea of it, but I am not artistic. I actually planned to order a template from Etsy and call it a day. Then, one of my dear friends said something that made me take the plunge. She said that the fact that I made it myself, with nothing but my hands and lots of love, would mean so much more later on….it would be imperfectly perfect. So, I did some research and got started. The first thing I did was print off my son’s name in the font and size I needed. I then laid it down on my chalkboard and drew over top of the letters with a pencil. It was just dark enough to translate to the board in order for me to be able to trace it back over with a chalkboard marker. 


Then I used a ruler to section it out, a giraffe stencil, and hand wrote the rest. Trust me, if I can do this, anybody can!☺️

Leave a Reply

