Homemade Enchilada Sauce

If you haven’t noticed a slight trend here, we eat A LOT of Mexican food at my house. My husband is half Mexican, so it’s no coincidence….but who doesn’t love Mexican food, right??

As I mentioned in my intro I make freezer meals for friends and family out of my kitchen. One of my most popular dishes is my Classic Chicken Enchiladas. They are very simple, and the homemade enchilada sauce is what makes the meal so delish. Here’s my favorite version of this Mexican staple:

~Heat 1/4 cup vegetable oil over medium high heat. 

~Whisk in 1/4 cup flour. 

Stir in:  28oz can crushed tomatoes, 2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons chili powder, 1 teaspoon onion powder, 1 teaspoon garlic powder, 1 teaspoon cumin, 1 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, 1 tablespoon brown sugar. Add one cup of water. Cracked salt and pepper to taste. 

Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes until sauce thickens. This will store in the fridge in an airtight container for up to 2 week (mine never lasts that long though!). 

Adapted from: Damn Delicious

Leave a Reply

