Homemade Marinara

When I first decided I wanted to up my cooking game for my family, I knew I wanted to cut out store bought sauces. However, it’s actually one of the later things that I started doing. I assumed it would be super labor intensive and require more money at the grocery store. Neither of those sounded appealing. Boy was I wrong. Not only was it super easy, most of the ingredients were already in my pantry. And the difference it made in my meals…..wow. I guarantee once you start making your own sauces, you won’t be able to return to those over processed, over salted shelf varieties! A sauce most folks buy for everything from spaghetti to pizza is marinara. This can be modified based on what’s in your kitchen, but here is the basic structure:

Melt 2 tablespoons butter and 2 tablespoons EVOO in a medium saucepan. Add in a small diced onion and a bit of minced garlic. Sauté for 3 minutes or so until onion is translucent.

Stir in: 28oz can crushed tomatoes, 8 oz can tomato sauce, 2 tablespoons brown sugar, teaspoon Italian seasoning, 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano, 1/2 teaspoon black pepper, 2 bay leaves, small handfuls of chopped fresh parsley and basil. Bring to a boil and reduce heat to low. Cover and simmer for 2+ hours. Remove bay leaves and enjoy!!

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Marinara

Leave a Reply

