Sopa/Sopita (Mexican Pasta Shells)

My mother in law is a traditional Mexican woman and an amazing cook. When I started dating my husband over a decade ago, I knew that if we were going to take our relationship to the next level, I was going to need to up my cooking game. Big time. You see, back then I measured the milk for Mac and Cheese (my husband still likes to remind me of that) so I knew the road ahead was long. I was excited and totally up for the challenge. 

Sopa or “Sopita” as my husband’s (and now my) family calls it is a staple in Mexican cooking. What’s interesting to me is all the ladies on that side of our family do it a little differently. Apparently there is no exact science, it’s a very personal and unique creation. So, this is my attempt and version of this delicious side dish that my 2 year old LOVES. Of course, it won’t be legit until my mother in law says so!

This is how I began. That’s a full pasta box of shells, about a third of an onion, a quarter cup chopped cilantro, chicken bouillon, tomato sauce, chicken broth, and olive oil. 

I sautéed the pasta in a few tablespoons of EVOO until it began to brown. Then I added in the onion and kept cooking for a minute or so. 

Then I added in a box of chicken broth, 12oz of tomato sauce, a couple tablespoons of bouillon, cilantro, and salt & pepper. I brought everything to a boil and reduced to a simmer for about 25-30 minutes over medium low heat. 

Here was my result. Tasty, not too shabby for a white girl.😋

2 thoughts on “Sopa/Sopita (Mexican Pasta Shells)

Leave a comment